The 2016 Edgars® Symposium    

Wednesday, April 27, 2016


This year’s symposium features many of this year’s Edgar(r) nominees
and the program will end with a one-on-one interview with the 2016 Grand Master – Walter Mosley.


Register NOW for the 2016 Edgarฎ Week Symposium!


Date: Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Location: Grand Hyatt Hotel – Ballroom Level (Room TBD)
East 42nd Street @ Grand Cen tral Station

Below is a schedule preview (subject to change)


8:30 – 8:50: Registration

8:55 – 9:00: Welcome – MWA's Executive Vice President – Donna Andrews

9:00 – 10:00: The Name of the Game Was Murder – Inspiration. The muse. Curiosity. Val McDermid says, when asked why she writes what she does, 'because I'm a sick twisted bitch." Join us for a lively discussion on inspiration, where the ideas come from, and why we write what we write.
Panelists: Matthew Baker (2016 Best Juvenile Nominee – If You Find This, Little, Brown BFYR)
Jessica Knoll (2016 Best First Novel Nominee – Luckiest Girl Alive, Simon & Schuster)
Jane Shemilt (2016 Best PBO Nominee – The Daughter, William Morrow)
David C. Taylor (2016 Best Novel Nominee – Night Life, Forge Books)


10:15 – 11:15: SHOW ME THE EVIDENCE – Almost all crime writers despise the phrase, often used by lazy reviewers, "transcends the genre." But what exactly does that mean, if anything? Is there a formula that can be followed for writing crime fiction? Join us for a lively discussion of tropes, stereotypes, and ways our nominated authors work within the genre to create art.
Moderator: JANET RUDOLPH, 2016 Ellery Queen Honoree
Panelists: Suzanne Marrs (2016 Best Critical/Bio Nominee – Meanwhile There are Letters, Arcade)
Mindy McGinnis (2016 Best Young Adult Nominee – A Madness So Discreet, Katherine Tegen Books)
Lauren Oliver (2016 Best Juvenile Nominee – Curiosity House:The Shrunken Head, HarperCollins' Children's Books)
Duane Swierczynski (2016 Best Novel Nominee – Canary, Mulholland Books)


11:30 – 12:30: BEAST IN VIEW – Most mystery readers and writers cut their teeth on Nancy Drew, the Hardy Boys, and various other mystery novels for juveniles and young adults. But the world has changed since Nancy Drew first got into her blue sportster and went looking for the old Crowley clock. Are there any topics or subjects that are taboo for young readers in the world of the Internet and social media? How do you hold the attention of a reader conditioned to 148 characters or less?
Moderator: LYNDSAY FAYE, MWA National Board Member (Jane Steele, G.P. Putnam's Sons)
Panelists: Lamar Giles (2016 Best Young Adult Nominee – Endangered, HarperTeen)
Kevin Sands (2016 Best Juvenile Nominee – Blackthorn Key, Simon & Schuster – Aladdin)
Henry Turner (2016 Best Young Adult Nominee – Ask the Dark, Clarion Books)
Susan Vaught (2016 Best Juvenile Nominee – Footer Davis is Probably Crazy, Paula Wiseman Books


12:30 – 1:30 Lunch Break (On Your Own)

1:30 – 2:30: A Cold and Lonely Place – The mean, sun-drenched streets of Chandler's Los Angeles. The foggy hills of Hammett's San Francisco. The complicated neighborhoods of Lippman's Baltimore. Some of the best crime fiction has a setting so real and palpable that it's almost a character itself. Our panelists discuss the importance of setting and scene to their work, and to other great works of crime fiction.
Moderator: ALISON GAYLIN, USA TODAY Best-selling author (What Remains of Me, William Morrow)
Panelists: Lou Berney (2016 Best PBO Nominee – The Long and Faraway Gone, William Morrow)
Gordon McAlpine (2016 Best PBO Nominee – Woman With A Blue Pencil, Seventh Street)
Lori Rader-Day (2016 Mary Higgins Clark nominee – Little Pretty Things, Seventh Street)
Alex Segura (Down the Darkest Street, Polis Books)


2:45 – 3:45: A Dram of Poison – Just because you're writing fiction doesn't give you a license to make things up. Research is very important to every crime writer, whether it's as major as the effects of poison on a victim, or which way a one-way street runs in the French Quarter. Join us as we talk about the importance of research, when it's okay to just make stuff up (if ever), and helpful hints on where to start looking.
Moderator: BRENDAN DUBOIS, MWA National Board member (Night Road, Midnight Ink)
Panelists: Susanna Calkins (2016 Mary Higgins Clark Nominee – The Masque of a Murderer, MInotaur)
Glen Erik Hamilton (2016 Best First Novel Nominee – Past Crimes, William Morrow)
Gilly Macmillan (2016 Best PBO Nominee – What She Knew, William Morrow)
Lori Roy (2016 Best Novel Nominee – Let Me Die in his Footsteps, Dutton)


4:00 – 5:00: From the Writer's Desk
2016 Grand Master Walter Mosley – Interviewed by Oline Cogdill


Cost: $95 members, $125 non-members – with a $15 retroactive discount
for those who join Mystery Writers of America within 30 days after Symposium.

You may also pay online via the MWA Store.

Please sign up at: